Minimalist Baby – Needs?

  Alright – part 2 for minimalist baby stuff. 
According to many popular department store registries, you need no less than 300 items before baby comes. Does that not seem a bit extreme?? It is. It’s a lot bit extreme. 

While some employees at these locations may care what’s best for your baby, their employers have a different priority. Their driving force is the almighty dollar. The less you think for yourself the more money they can make. They use your “new mom guilt” as a way to manipulate you into pulling out that credit card. And they are good at it!! I know that I once purchased some powdered oatmeal baby food for my first daughter because I felt like she would starve without it. Was she hungry? No. Was it recommended by her doctor? I didn’t ask. I just was drawn to the marketing in that moment. It’s happens to the most committed minimalists – at least the ones that admit it 😊

So then what the heck does a baby need? This is by no means the only perfect list. This is meant to be a starting point to keep you from going insane. You’re welcome. 
Quick list: 

1) you 

2) love

3) food 

4) diapers 

5) sleep 
1) you. 

Regardless if you are birthing or adopting your new little one – they are your kid! Of all the kids and all the parents they got partnered with you! I believe there is a huge significance to this that is often overlooked. They aren’t your mothers daughter or your friends son. You get to decide how to raise them. Take advice if you want but you also have a wonderful instinct many times. Don’t ignore that! It’s a gift! 
2) love. 
“All you need is love”…right? Again, a gift that’s overlooked. Many times that one rattle or that specific blanket is given way too much significance. You’ll see what I mean when your baby looks into your eyes with mesmerized love 
3) food. 
Ok. Maybe you need more than love. They need food. We all gotta eat! Breastmilk, raw goats milk & formula are all fantastic options. * Just gotta pick one! 

– A quick note: this seems to be a very touchy & personal subject. Many women feel like they need to defend why they can’t/ don’t want to breastfeed. I just want to encourage you that no matter which option you choose, again it’s YOUR choice. Your kid is your responsibility. I hear so many moms with healthy & happy kids feeling horribly guilty for not breastfeeding. It breaks my heart! We need to quit judging other moms/parents on this one. Your boobs are your own business. You don’t owe an explanation to anyone. You are doing great mama. Keep up the good work and bottle fed that baby with joy! 

* I’m not a doctor here so don’t take this as medical advice!
4) diapers. 
Unless you are one of those folks who decides to let your baby pee in little dishes around the house (it’s a thing. Google it) then your kid is gonna need diapers. Paper or cloth or some kind of hybrid, I’d say this is a must. 
5) sleep. 
Before you slap me through the computer screen, I don’t mean you, dear parent. I used to get so annoyed when people would tell me to “sleep when your kid sleeps” as if I was choosing NOT to sleep. I mean, yes, sleep is awesome but with my kiddos I barely slept at the beginning. And here I’m not talking about sleep training and blah blah blah. There are other blogs for that. I have coffee….

I’m just saying your kid needs a place TO sleep. You can co-sleep, crib, bassinet or even set up a sleep station on the floor. It’s up to you! Do your research and find what works best for you! 

6) car seat

Pretty self explanatory. Sometimes your insurance provides a free one so double check that before you get one! 
Additional things:
* clothes. 

It’s nice to have at least one outfit a day at the beginning. Babies tend to blow out those diapers fast and get that baby poop all over the place. You don’t want to be staining those cute little onesies! 

Many times these little shirts are available at the hospital. So are a couple blankets – which is why I didn’t include it above. I didn’t want to ruin nice clothes so I just grabbed a few extras from the hospital. Win win
* wrap it up! Plug it up! 
Totally optional – I love baby wearing. It gives me my hands back and also kinda makes me feel like I’m on the movie Total Recall….

Also – my kids never took a pacifier but I can totally see the merit. Snag one at the hospital 👍🏼

That’s about it! If you have any other ideas that you found that were necessities I’d love to hear them! 

Leave a Reply

